Weekend Family Time

So this weekend was a wonderful weekend, as I got to see my oldest son and his fiancé. We have been dog sitting for our grand dog, while my son went on a weekend ski trip. We listened to the stories that our kids told us about their weekend trip and then I got to discuss some wedding ideas with my son’s fiancé. She told me that she is considering olive green for the bridesmaids dresses. Oh how I love that idea, it’s so different and so perfect for the impression I have of my new daughter-in-law-to-be. It goes so perfectly with a end of summer/fall theme and it is also timeless in my mind, one of those colors that will never look like a fad (as the baby blue color looks now when I look back at our wedding pictures).

Speaking of fads, have you seen how some people put out candy boxes or other trinkets or specialized things on their wedding tables during the reception? I’m not too keen on the idea of placing candy boxes in front of guests, but it’s a neat idea to put something in particular in front of everyone before dinner begins.

My daughter-in-law-to-be (DILTB) also showed me a couple of pictures of what she is considering her bouquet to look like. That was exciting! Needless to say after they left I had to run next-door to the shoppe and gather up a handful of flowers to see how closely I could replicate the idea that she is pondering. The flowers included some eucalyptus, some succulents, and some white or pale pink flowers to offer a little bit of color but she hasn’t decided yet if she’d rather stick with a greenery and white theme or add that tiny pit of colors. I went through many boxes to find that perfect shade of pale pink to tuck in. It was a rough handful but it gave us an idea of what it would look like, of course you have to use your imagination to envision the beauty of the final product once the handful was arranged and tied together properly.

This morning I scrolled through social media for a few minutes before work and I saw a posting from the venue that they have rented for their wedding, the venue is absolutely gorgeous and will need very little addition to make it just stunning. My DILTB told me that they will soon have a tasting at the venue to decide on the final menu for the wedding. How exciting to think of the many couples coming together to sample all the different varieties of meals and dishes that they could choose for their special day. I’m so hoping that we can make this tasting with our kids, it sounds like it would be an awesome evening to be apart of leading up to their wedding.

So to wind up the weekend I neatly boxed up all the flowers that I have been stockpiling for this wedding. I neatly tucked them in for a short wait until October 2 and I smiled as I looked back at all the boxes holding the beautiful flowers and thought, what a glorious day it’s going to be when my son weds his forever friend, when our DILTB becomes part of our family for good. Happy wedding planning to all of you.

Published by

Ron Newton

Earned praised for my work getting my feet wet with cabbage in Pensacola, FL. Have some experience selling inflatable dolls in Salisbury, MD. Earned praised for my work licensing hobos in Washington, DC.

Leave a comment